Last reviewed: August 25, 2026. Every chain below was read directly that month.
You are in the drive-thru line with three cars behind you, and the menu board tells you nothing. Somewhere on that board are items with no gluten ingredients. Somewhere else is a fryer that has cooked breaded chicken all day. Nothing distinguishes them.
That gap is the whole problem with gluten-free fast food. Ingredient lists are easy to find. What happens to the food in the kitchen is not, and for celiac disease the kitchen is the part that matters.
So in August 2026 we read all ten chains’ own allergen material, front to back, and recorded only what each company commits to in writing. Not what forums say. Not what we assume. What the chain publishes.
The result is less reassuring than most fast food roundups, and more useful. Three of ten chains state a fryer policy in writing. None describe staff allergen training. One tells people with celiac disease outright not to eat there.
Key Takeaways
- Only three of ten chains commit to a fryer policy in writing: Five Guys says its fryers are dedicated, while Taco Bell and Arby’s both say their oil is shared.
- Zero of ten describe allergen training for staff on their published allergen material. If that matters to you, you have to ask in the restaurant.
- Taco Bell explicitly does not recommend its products for customers with celiac disease. That is their sentence, not our rating.
- Publishing an allergen chart is the industry floor. Every chain does it. Documenting kitchen procedure is rare, and that is the real dividing line.
- “Not stated” is a genuine answer, not a gap in our research. It tells you exactly where you need to ask a question.
What a Chain Publishes Is All Anyone Can Check
An earlier version of this article scored these chains out of 25, including points for staff training and dedicated fryers. We have taken those scores down, because we could not defend them. Chipotle, Chick-fil-A and In-N-Out publish nothing at all about fryer policy or staff training, so any number we assigned on those factors was invented.
We cannot inspect a kitchen. Nobody writing a fast food article can. What is checkable from outside is what a company puts in writing and stands behind, so that is the only thing recorded below.
This is the same standard behind our gluten-free chain safety scorecard, which tracks ten sit-down and fast food chains on a quarterly re-read schedule. This page is the fast food half of that question, in more depth.
One thing a written commitment does not do is make your meal safe. A chain that documents its procedure has told you something real. The meal still depends on the shift, the staff and the day.
What Each of the 10 Chains Publishes
Read this as four yes-or-no questions about a company’s published material, not as a ranking.
| Chain | Allergen info | Fryer policy | GF procedure | Staff training |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chipotle Mexican Grill | Published | Not stated | Glove change on request | Not stated |
| Chick-fil-A | Published | Not stated | GF bun, no procedure | Not stated |
| In-N-Out Burger | Published | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Five Guys | Published | Dedicated fryers | Documented | Not stated |
| McDonald’s | Published | Not stated | No item certified GF | Not stated |
| Taco Bell | Published | Shared fryer oil | Not advised for celiac | Not stated |
| Wendy’s | Published | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Arby’s | Without-gluten list | Shared oil, items named | List only, Mar 2025 | Not stated |
| KFC | Published | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Dunkin’ | Published Jun 2026 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Two patterns jump out. Every chain publishes allergen data, so that column separates nobody. And the staff training column is empty from top to bottom.
The Fryer Is Where Most Orders Go Wrong
For a lot of fast food orders the gluten does not come from the ingredients. It comes from the oil. Fries and hash browns contain no wheat, then share a vat with breaded chicken or onion rings.
Only three chains address this in writing, and the useful thing is that two of them say the answer is no:
- Five Guys is the one chain of the ten that states its fryers are dedicated, with fries cooked in peanut oil that no breaded product shares.
- Taco Bell states that items are prepared in common kitchen areas, including common fryer oil.
- Arby’s goes furthest and names the conflict directly, warning in its menu items without gluten guide that Potato Cakes and Crinkle Fries may be cooked in the same oil as Chicken Fillet, Crispy Chicken Strips, Premium Chicken Nuggets, Curly Fries, Crispy Onions, Fish Fillets, Jalapeno Bites and Mozzarella Sticks.
The other seven chains say nothing about fryers at all. Silence is not a dedicated fryer. If a chain has not committed to one in writing, assume shared oil and ask before you order. Our chain-by-chain guide to french fries goes deeper on which fries are worth the question.
The Four Chains Where You Have Real Options
These four publish enough, or keep menus simple enough, that a celiac diner has a decision to make rather than a dead end.
Chipotle Mexican Grill
Chipotle documents the most procedure of any chain here. It offers a glove change on request at the start of an order, and warns that corn items may carry trace gluten from field co-mingling and that preparation cross-contact is not reflected on its allergen chart. It says nothing about fryers, separate prep areas or staff training. Our item-by-item Chipotle guide breaks down the line.
Chick-fil-A
Chick-fil-A publishes a detailed allergen menu and a gluten-free bun, and its grilled items are made without gluten ingredients. What it does not publish is a fryer policy or a handling procedure, so the widely repeated claim that the waffle fries are cooked in a separate fryer is not something the company commits to in writing. Treat it as a question for the counter, not a settled fact.
In-N-Out Burger
In-N-Out publishes the least of the four and is on this list for a different reason: the menu is tiny. Fewer items means fewer chances for contact. A burger ordered protein style, wrapped in lettuce, is about as simple as fast food gets. The company states no fryer policy, no handling procedure and no staff training.
Five Guys
Five Guys is the only chain of the ten that states a dedicated fryer policy, and it documents a handling procedure. It says nothing about staff training, which matters more here than elsewhere because franchise-level consistency varies. Communicate clearly at the counter.
The Six Where the Answer Is Mostly “Ask, or Skip”
McDonald’s
McDonald’s is direct about it: the company does not certify any menu item as gluten-free, and notes that normal kitchen operations involve shared cooking and preparation areas, equipment and utensils. See our McDonald’s fries breakdown for why the fries specifically are a recurring question.
Taco Bell
Taco Bell lists items made without gluten ingredients, including the Power Menu Bowl, Black Beans and Rice, Crunchy Taco and Hash Brown. It then says plainly that it does not recommend its products for customers with celiac disease. Our Crunchy Taco guide covers the item most people ask about.
Wendy’s
Wendy’s identifies wheat among the nine FDA allergens and provides per-item allergen data, while stating that cross contact is possible due to common handling and preparation areas. There is no gluten-free menu and no fryer statement. The chili is the item most often asked about, covered in our Wendy’s chili guide.
Arby’s
Arby’s is better documented than its reputation suggests. It publishes a dedicated list of menu items made without wheat, barley, rye or oats, a stricter scope than most chains use, and the roast beef, corned beef, roast turkey, smoked brisket and bacon all appear on it. Two caveats: the fryer warning above, and the fact that this guide is dated March 2025 while the general allergen guide is dated September 2026. Our curly fries guide explains the shared-fryer trap.
KFC
KFC publishes a full nutrition and allergen guide, and states that its products are prepared on shared equipment in the same kitchen area with no guarantee against cross contact. Almost the entire menu is breaded. The grilled chicken is the usual question, and the usual answer involves the same shared kitchen.
Dunkin’
Dunkin’ publishes a thorough allergen and ingredient guide, updated in June 2026, and warns that products may be processed on shared equipment that has contacted wheat. We searched the entire 190-page current guide for the phrase “gluten-free” and found zero occurrences. If you have seen a claim that Dunkin’ sells a gluten-free brownie, that item is not in the current guide.
Orders That Hold Up at the Counter
Not products to buy, just the orders that survive contact with a real kitchen. Every one of these still depends on how it is handled that day.
Five Orders Worth Knowing
- Chipotle burrito bowl, glove change requested at the start, skipping the flour tortilla entirely
- In-N-Out burger ordered protein style, wrapped in lettuce instead of a bun
- Five Guys bunless burger in a bowl, the one order here backed by a stated dedicated fryer policy
- Arby’s roast beef with no bun, from the published without-gluten list, no fries
- Chick-fil-A grilled nuggets with a safe sauce, treating the waffle fries as an open question
Two to approach with more caution: anything fried at a chain that has not published a fryer policy, and any breakfast sandwich, where a shared toaster or griddle usually sits between you and the eggs.
Common Mistakes in the Drive-Thru
- Reading the ingredient list and stopping there. Ingredients tell you what is in the food, not what touched it. The fryer, the toaster and the prep surface are all invisible on a nutrition chart.
- Treating a gluten-free bun as a gluten-free meal. A dedicated bun that gets assembled on a shared board with shared gloves has picked up whatever was on that board.
- Assuming silence means safety. Seven of these ten chains say nothing about fryers. That is a prompt to ask, not permission to assume.
- Ordering at peak rush. Glove changes and clean utensils are procedural favors. Mid-rush is when procedures slip, and it is the worst time to rely on one.
- Trusting a claim you read once. Chains reformulate and update guides on their own schedule. The Dunkin’ brownie is the clearest example of a claim that outlived the product.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which fast food chain is safest for celiac disease?
No chain is safe in the sense of guaranteed, and none of them claim to be. Five Guys is the only one of these ten that states in writing that its fryers are dedicated, and Chipotle documents the most handling procedure. Those are written commitments, not a promise about the meal in front of you, which still depends on the shift and the staff that day.
Are Chick-fil-A waffle fries cooked in a separate fryer?
Chick-fil-A does not state a fryer policy in its published allergen material, so we cannot confirm it. This is one of the most repeated claims in gluten-free fast food writing and it is not something the company commits to in writing. Ask at the counter rather than treating it as settled.
Why does 'not stated' appear so often in the table?
Because most chains publish an allergen matrix showing which items contain wheat, and say nothing at all about kitchen procedure. That silence is the finding. If a chain has not committed to a fryer policy in writing, you cannot assume one, and asking becomes the only way to know.
Does Taco Bell have gluten-free options?
Taco Bell lists items made without gluten-containing ingredients, including the Power Menu Bowl and Black Beans and Rice, but states that they are prepared in common kitchen areas including common fryer oil. It also says directly that it does not recommend its products for customers with celiac disease.
Does Dunkin' still sell a gluten-free brownie?
Not according to its current allergen and ingredient guide, updated in June 2026. We searched all 190 pages and found no occurrence of the phrase gluten-free and no brownie. The claim circulates from an older announcement and should not be relied on.
How often is this page re-checked?
Every chain listed here was read directly in August 2026, and the page carries the date it was last reviewed. Chains update allergen guides on their own schedule, so always confirm anything critical against the chain’s current guide before you order.
The Bottom Line
Fast food is not built for celiac disease, and no amount of careful ordering changes that. What careful ordering does change is the odds, and the difference between a chain that publishes its fryer policy and one that stays silent is real information you can act on.
The short version: Five Guys is the only one of these ten that commits to dedicated fryers in writing. Chipotle documents the most procedure. Taco Bell tells celiac diners not to eat there, which is worth respecting. Everywhere else, the honest move is to ask one specific question and accept the answer you get.
If you are somewhere new and want somewhere better than a drive-thru, our gluten-free restaurant finder is built for exactly that moment, and the dining out guide covers the wider strategy.
Get our free restaurant communication card — show it to your server and skip the whole explanation.